Fabric Market   Leave a comment

Like any large city, Shanghai has its different shopping areas and recently we ventured into the fabric market near the south Bund area.  The fabric market is home to dozens and dozens of tailors there is a large building, three floors, with just shops and shops – samples on mannequins or hanging for passerby to view and decide they just can’t live with out that cool looking, asymmetrical zipper black cashmere coat.  Can you tell I got sucked in?

A co worker need to go and pick up his jackets and shirts recently, so we all hopped in a cab and headed downtown.  We come upon the market and man, it is packed.  On one side of the street are some little shops- were James Tailor (hahaha get it?) is located.  We walk in, and take it all in.  There is some fabric here, but mostly just as a representation of what they have available.  They also have books with pictures of suits, shirts, coats that you can choose from in case you don’t have something already in mind.  But I did!  I came prepared!  I had heard you could take them a picture of something that you wanted and they could make a pattern and sew it for you. I had taken a photo of a jacket that I liked so I wanted to test out this theory.  As our co worker was getting his jacket, I showed my picture to the tailor.  He and I discussed the details of the coat, but couldn’t figure out how to text him the pic, so he asked me to come with him.  I thought we were going upstairs to get fitted or something, so I really didn’t tell my co workers where I was going. Turns out, the tailor intended for me to go with him.  The shops usually have two or three people working in them, so my co workers were talking with the shop owner.  And when he meant go with him, he meant on his e scooter, down the block to a place where they printed out the photo of the coat from my iPhone.  Let me tell you , cruising down a crowded street on the back of the tailors e scooter was fun, but also scary.  I was thinking “hmm…. could this be the start to one of the “Locked Up Abroad” shows? Luckily it wasn’t… we printed out the pic, headed back to the shop and I breathlessly told me co workers all about my little ride.

We looked over the bigger picture with the tailor, confirmed the details like button, collar, length and then I got measured.  Not only are the prices reasonable for a coat, it is custom  made for you.  I got a dark charcoal cashmere pea coat-ish jacket, custom tailored, for $125.  That is less than a new coat at H&M.  Well, that price was after some haggling, and some how in my broken Chinese I convinced them I was a student. (RIIIIGHT) so they gave me a discount.  I will send them some business for sure.

Two weeks later we (me and my weekend roommate Danielle, who is a co-worker but lives in Kunshan, so she usually comes and spends the weekend with me in Shanghai) go to our final fitting.  The coats fit, so we pay the remainder on our coats (you need to put a deposit down) and head across the street to the building that houses 3 floors of tailors.  But before we make it across the street we stop for some street snacks… I had a nice large, hot spring roll and Danielle got scallion pancake like burrito like thing with veggies… they were tasty and perfect fuel for some more shopping.  Up and around and down we go… We choose another coat.  We both got the same one, but man, is it awesome.  And $100 USD. And I was pulled into another shop by this nice looking long sleeve cowl neck dress on a mannequin.  That, custom made heavy jersey dress was only $32 USD.  I found my new shopping destination.  And I can take them a picture and get it made for me.  SCORE.  I picked up my new coat and dress this weekend, hopefully after completing my first half marathon in Shanghai on Sunday.

Posted December 2, 2011 by colleeninshanghai in Uncategorized

Leave a comment