Seasons they are a changing….   Leave a comment

Time is flying.  I have been in Shanghai since mid September, and here we are almost mid May.  I have been through Shanghai winter, which was cold (well, not as cold as Chicago, but WAY colder and damper than San Diego) and just witness the shortest spring of my life.  The leaves on the trees popped, the rain came in, and now it wa 91 degrees today.  And it’s only May.  I caved just now and turned on my air conditioning and I am planning on packing up the winter clothes soon.

It gets redic hot in Shanghai.  I remember when I was here during high school- it was the summer.  I actually slept a time or two on the roof of our dorm attempting to get some relief because air conditioning was basically unheard of.  I remember watching the heat lightning and hoping that the very large cock roaches that I would see all over were somewhere other than on the roof with me. This coming summer doesn’t look like it will be any cooler, except now I have ‘kong tiao’ in my apartment.  Ah, yes, the beloved air conditioning.

It’s also too hot to run in the middle of the day I have found.  I went out for my last long run before the Great Wall half marathon on 5/19 on Saturday.. went out a little later than normal and decided 6 miles into my 10 miles that it was just too damn hot to keep running.  After much self cussing and stomping I had to walk back to the start.. yep. I walked.  Couldn’t muster up the strength/endurance/fortitude to just run… too.damn.hot.   And as a result, I am taking a half day vacation to finish my last long run before my race.  So, looks like I get up at the crack of dawn for my long runs or learn to love the treadmill.   Looks like I will be learning to become a morning person.  At least the streets won’t be as packed at 6:00 am. I hope.

Posted May 7, 2012 by colleeninshanghai in Uncategorized

Leave a comment